Full-time Faculty Directory

Department of Communication Studies

Natalie H. Coulter
Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Communications, Simon Fraser University
M.A. History, University of Guelph
B.A. (Honours) in Anthropology and History , Trent University

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3042ext. 77849ncoulter@yorku.ca

Interests:
Communications , Children and Youth , Gender and Communications, Consumer Culture, Critical Technology Studies


Mary-Louise Craven
Associate Professor

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3021ext. 70559mlc@yorku.ca


Barbara A Crow
Professor

Ph.D., Department of Sociology, York University
Master of Arts, Department of Sociology, York University
Bachelor of Arts, Combined Honours in Political Science and Women's Studies, York University

230 York Lanesext. 40549bacrow@yorku.ca

Interests:
Communications , Women's Studies , Digital Technologies, Political Economy of Communication, Ageing and Mobile Technologies.


Kevin Leslie Dowler
Associate Professor

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3019ext. 77871kdowler@yorku.ca


Susan Driver
Associate Professor

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3016ext. 20125sdriver@yorku.ca

Interests:
Gender Issues , Women , Sexuality


Mark Hayward
Associate Professor

M.A., McGill University
PhD., University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3029ext. 77657mhayward@yorku.ca

Interests:
Communications , Culture and Cultural Studies


Robert J. Heynen
Assistant Professor

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3040ext. 77405rheynen@yorku.ca


Ganaele M. Langlois
Assistant Professor

PhD, York/Ryerson Universities
MA, York/Ryerson Universities
Maîtrise, Sorbonne - Paris IV

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3017ext. 20329gana@yorku.ca

Interests:
Media , Culture and Cultural Studies , New Media, Philosophy of Communication, Critical Studies of Technology


Anne F. MacLennan
Associate Professor

PhD, Concordia University
MA, McGill University
BA Honours, McGill University

3025 Victor Phillip Dahdaleh (DB) Buildingext. 33857amaclenn@yorku.ca

Interests:
Communications , Canadian Studies , Media history, Popular culture, Broadcasting, oral history, advertising, consumption, social welfare, poverty, labour and methodology


Patricia A Mazepa
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Communication 2003, Carleton University
M.A. Communication 1997, Carleton University
B. Soc. Sci. Leisure Studies (summa cum laude) 1993, University of Ottawa
B.A. Communication (summa cum laude) 1992, University of Ottawa

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3030ext. 30164 pamazepa@yorku.ca

Interests:
Communications , Information Technologies , Political Economy of Communication , History of Canadian Communication and Culture , Media and Democracy


Jonathan Obar
Assistant Professor

PhD in Mass Communications, Penn State University
MA in Media Studies, Syracuse University

Victor Phillip Dahdaleh Building, 3008 ext. 33873jaobar@yorku.ca

Interests:
Communication Policy, Information Policy, Digital Media and Civil Liberties, Digital Activism, Big Data and Privacy, and Network Neutrality


Tokunbo Ojo
Assistant Professor

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3027ext. 33755tojo@yorku.ca

Interests:
Media , Globalization , International Communication , Development Communication , Journalism Studies


Wade Rowland
Associate Professor

PhD, York University
MA, Trent University
BA, University of Manitoba

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3018ext. 20468wade@waderowland.com

Interests:
Communications , Information Technologies


David Skinner
Associate Professor

Ph.D. (Communication), Simon Fraser University
Master of Arts (Media Studies), Concordia University
Bachelor of Arts (Communication), Simon Fraser University

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 3020ext. 33853skinnerd@yorku.ca

Interests:
Political Economy of Communication, Media Policy, Alternative and Community Media