Full-time Faculty Directory

Department of Economics

Tasso Adamopoulos
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Economics, University of Toronto
M.A., Economics, Queens University
B.A., Economics, Athens University of Economics and Business

Vari Hall, 1036ext. 33269aadamo@yorku.ca

Interests:
Macroeconomics, Growth and Development, International Economics


Ahmet Akyol
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 1050ext. 77044ahmet.akyol20d@gmail.com

Interests:
Risk-Sharing in Environments with Limited Commitment, Effects of Default Option on Self-Employment, Education Subsidies and the Option of Migration


Mahmudul Anam
Professor

Vari Hall, 1136ext. 20583manam@yorku.ca


Elie Appelbaum
Professor

Vari Hall, 1064ext. 20582elie@yorku.ca


John B Beare
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 1076ext. 20586beare@yorku.ca


Matthew Brzozowski
Associate Professor

PhD, McMaster University

Vari Hall, 1086ext. 20152brzozows@yorku.ca

Interests:
Economics , Policy , Public Finance, Demographic economics


Neil Buckley
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Economics, McMaster University
M.A. Economics, Queen's University
B.Arts Sc. Combined Honours Economics, McMaster University

Vari Hall, 1140ext. 77031nbuckley@yorku.ca

Interests:
Health Economics, Natural Resource and Environmental Economics, Experimental/Behavioural Economics


Sam Bucovetsky
Professor

Vari Hall, 1052ext. 77026bucovetsky1052@gmail.com


Shin-Hwan Chiang
Professor

Vari Hall, 1060ext. 77035schiang@yorku.ca


Avi J Cohen
Professor

PhD Economics, Stanford University
MA Economics, Stanford University
BA Economics, University of Michigan

Vari Hall, 1072ext. 77046 avicohen@yorku.ca

Interests:
Economics , HIstory of Economics, Capital Theory, Economics Education


Berta Esteve-Volart
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Economics, London School of Economics
M.Sc. Economics, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
B.A. Economics, Universitat Pompeu Fabra

Vari Hall, 1066ext. 77029bertaev@gmail.com


George B Fallis
Professor

Ph. D., Economics, Princeton University
B.A., Political Science and Economics, University of Toronto

Vari Hall, 1048ext. 77027gfallis@yorku.ca

Interests:
Universities and their roles in democratic, post-industrial societies; Canadian higher education policy., The growth and evolution of the welfare state; Canadian housing policy


Ida Ferrara
Associate Professor

PhD Economics, York Univesity
MA Economics, York University
BA Honours, Economics and Business, York University

Vari Hall, 1136ext. 20583iferrara@yorku.ca

Interests:
Environmental Economics, Public Economics


George Georgopoulos
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Toronto
MA Economics, University of Toronto
BA Honours Economics, University of Western Ontario

Vari Hall, 1080ext. 30108georgop@yorku.ca

Interests:
Financial Economics, Business Economics and Strategy, Theory of Multinationals and Foreign Direct Investment, International Trade and Finance, Applied Monetary Theory


Ricardo S Grinspun
Associate Professor

Founders College, 233ext. 77049ricardo@yorku.ca


Wai-Ming Ho
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 1046ext. 22319waiming@yorku.ca


Joann Jasiak
Professor

Vari Hall, 1062ext. 77045jasiakj@yorku.ca


Tsvetanka Karagyozova
Assistant Professor

Contractually Limited Term Appointment,

Vari Hall, 1082ext. 77028tkarag@yorku.ca


Alena Kimakova
Associate Professor

PhD, Brandeis University
M.Sc. , Brandeis University
M.A. , Central European University
B.B.A., Economics University Bratislava

McLaughlin College, 138ext. 66066akimakov@yorku.ca

Interests:
Political Economy, International Finance, International Trade, Development Economics, Program Evaluation


Ying Kong
Associate Professor

PhD, Carleton University
MPA, School of Public Administration, Carleton University
BSc., Peking University, China

Vari Hall, 1118ext. 30101ykong@yorku.ca

Interests:
Industrial Organization, Health Economics, International Economics and Business Economics


Nils-Petter Lagerlöf
Professor

Vari Hall, 1056ext. 33785lagerlof@yorku.ca


Fred Lazar
Associate Professor

Seymour Schulich Building, N205Jext. 20252flazar@yorku.ca


Bernard Lebrun
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 1074ext. 33653blebrun@yorku.ca


Fernando Leibovici
Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 1034ext. 30106flei@yorku.ca


Xianghong Li
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Ohio State University
M.A., Ohio State University
B.A., Beijing University

Vari Hall, 1068ext. 77036xli@yorku.ca

Interests:
Empirical Labor Economics, Empirical Finance, Applied Econometrics


Alla Lileeva
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 1112ext. 20581lileeva@yorku.ca


Kin Chung Lo
Professor

Ph.D. (Economics, under the supervision of Larry Epstein), University of Toronto
M. Soc. Sc. (Economics), University of Hong Kong
B. Soc. Sc. (Economics, First Class Honors), University of Hong Kong

Vari Hall, 1070ext. 77032kclo@yorku.ca

Interests:
Game Theory, Decision Theory


Shameem Chowdhury Mahmoud
Assistant Professor

Contractually Limited Term Appointment,

Vari Hall, 1116ext. 77053cmahmoud@yorku.ca


Sudeshna Maitra
Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 1038ext. 77052maitra@yorku.ca


Sadia Malik
Assistant Professor

Contractually Limited Term Appointment,
PhD, Kansas State University, USA

Vari Hall, 1094ext. 20532smmalik@yorku.ca

Interests:
Economics , Health , Institutions and long term development, Income inequality and health


Arman Mansoorian
Professor

Vari Hall, 1026ext. 33403arman@yorku.ca


Uros Petronijevic
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Economics, University of Toronto
M.A., Economics, University of Toronto
B.Sc., Financial Economics, University of Toronto

1114 Vari Hallext. 33879upetroni@yorku.ca

Interests:
Public Economics, Economics of Education, Labour Economics


Andrea Podhorsky
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Princeton University
M.A., University of British Columbia
B. Comm., University of Windsor

Vari Hall, 1058ext. 77030andrea@yorku.ca

Interests:
Environmental Economics, Development Economics, International Trade, Applied Microeconomics


Paul Rilstone
Professor

Vari Hall, 1032pril@yorku.ca


Laura Salisbury
Assistant Professor

PhD, Boston University

Vari Hall, 1092ext. 77051lsalisbu@yorku.ca


Ben Sand
Associate Professor

PhD Economics, University of British Columbia

Vari Hall, 1090ext. 20587bmsand@yorku.ca

Interests:
Economics , Labour , Applied Econometrics


Andrei Semenov
Associate Professor

PhD Economics, Université de Montréal

Vari Hall, 1028ext. 77025asemenov@yorku.ca

Interests:
Theoretical and Empirical Asset Pricing, Risk Management, Behavioral Finance, Financial Econometrics


J. Barry Smith
Professor

Ph.D., University of Western
M.A. , University of Western
B.A. (Hons.), York University

Vari Hall, 1075ext. 20584jbsmith@yorku.ca


John Smithin
Professor

Ph.D. in Economics, McMaster University
M.A. in Economics, McMaster University
B.A. (Honours) in Economics, City of London Polytechnic

Vari Hall, 1110ext. 33623jsmithin@yorku.ca


Brenda Spotton Visano
Professor

PhD, McGill University

McLaughlin College, 130ext. 20470spotton@yorku.ca

Interests:
Economics , Financial and Monetary Systems , Microfinance, Financial Crises, Higher Education


Andrey Stoyanov
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 1084ext. 22833andreyst@yorku.ca


Razvan Sufana
Associate Professor

PhD Economics and Finance, University of Toronto
MA Economics, McMaster University
BA Computer Science, West University of Timisoara, Romania

Vari Hall, 1030ext. 66065rsufana@yorku.ca

Interests:
Economics , Financial and Monetary Systems , Derivative Pricing


Henry Tam
Associate Professor

PhD Economics, Harvard University
BA Economics-Political Science and Physics, Columbia University

Vari Hall, 1042ext. 30112thenry@yorku.ca

Interests:
Economics , Technological Change and Development, Financial Economics, Corporate Governance


Adam Wilczynski
Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 1054ext. 20577wilczyns@yorku.ca