Full-time Faculty Directory

Department of French Studies

Monique Adriaen
Associate Professor

Founders College, 219ext. 77059madriaen@yorku.ca

Interests:
epistemology of linguistics, phonetics and French phonology, French didactics


Ibrahim Hamid Badr
Associate Professor

Ph.D. (with distinction) in Modern and Contemporary French Literature, Université de Provence (Aix-Marseille I)
Advanced Studies Diploma (D.E.A.) in Modern and Contemporary French Literature, Université de Provence (Aix-Marseille I)
M.A. in French and Francophone Languages and Literatures, Université de Provence (Aix-Marseille I)
B.A. (Honours Part II) in French Language, Literature and Civilisation, University of Khartoum
B.A. / B.Sc. (Honours Part I) in French and Political Science, University of Khartoum

Ross Building, N735ext. 77067ibadr@yorku.ca


Danielle Beausoleil
Lecturer

Ross Building, N737ext. 77076danielle@yorku.ca


Hedi A Bouraoui
- Select One -

Licence ès lettres (Littérature anglaise), Université de Toulouse
M.A. (Littérature anglaise et américaine), Indiana University
Ph.D. (Études Romanes), Cornell University

Stong College, 332ext. 77323bouraoui@yorku.ca

Interests:
Maghrebian and Franco-Ontarian literatures, Transculturalism, Mediterranean Studies, 20th and 21st-century French and Francophone literatures, critical theory, culture and civilization.


Johanna A. Danciu
Assistant Professor

PhD - French Literature (18th c. theatre) , University of Toronto
M.A. - French Literature, University of Toronto
Hon. B.A. - French and Italian Literature, University of Toronto

Ross Building, N713ext. 30128jdanciu@yorku.ca

Interests:
French , Theatre , FSL Teaching and Learning


Christiane Dumont
Associate Lecturer

Professional Master's Degree, Advanced Level, Second Language Pedagogy (didactique des langues-cultures), Université Blaise Pascal, 2010
Master's Degree, FSL French Semantics, University of Western Ontario, 1985
Master's Degree, ESL English Phonetics, Université de Provence, 1982
Honors BA, Translation, School of Translation Glendon College, York University, 1987
Honors BA, ESL, Université de Provence, 1981

Ross Building, N720ext. 30182cdumont@yorku.ca

Interests:
French , Culture and Cultural Studies , Experiential Education, Blended Learning, Intercultural and Oral Communication


Henriette Gezundhajt
Lecturer

gezundha@yorku.ca

Interests:
French , Linguistics


Marilyn P Lambert-Drache
Associate Professor

York Lanes, 200Next. 55177mlambert@yorku.ca


Christian Marjollet
Lecturer

Atkinson College, 140ext. 77078cmarjo@yorku.ca


Louise M J Morrison
Associate Lecturer

Ross Building, N731ext. 77064louisem@yorku.ca

Interests:
French


Marie-Christine Pioffet
Professor

Postdoctoral Studies, University of Paris-Sorbonne
Ph.D., Quebec French Literature, Laval University
M.A., French Literature, Laval University
Certificate in Public Relations, Laval University
B.A., French Literature, Laval University

Ross Building, N707ext. 30183mpioffet@yorku.ca


Janusz Przychodzen
Associate Professor

Postdoctoral Fellowship. Département d'études françaises, University of Toronto
Postdoctoral Fellowship. Comparative Literature, University of California, Berkeley (UCB)
Ph.D. Département de langue et littérature françaises, McGill University
M.A. Département de langue et littérature françaises, McGill University

Ross Building, N705ext. 77069januszp@yorku.ca

Interests:
Littératures francophones américaines, esthétique et poétique, herméneutique, multiculturalisme


Dominique G Scheffel-Dunand
Associate Professor

Ross Building, N723Bext. 77070dsdunand@yorku.ca


Savitsa Sévigny
Lecturer

Calumet College, 204ext. 44082ssevigny@yorku.ca


Anne-Sophie Troit
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Études littéraires, Université de Moncton
M.A., Lettres modernes, I.C.E.S (France)
B.A., Lettres modernes, I.C.E.S (France)

Ross Building, N709ext. 77068atroit@yorku.ca


Sergio Villani
Professor

PhD. , Harvard University
M.A., Harvard University
B.A., University of Toronto

Ross Building, N717ext. 33025svillani@yorku.ca


Karen L Whalen
- Select One -

kwhalen@yorku.ca


Diane Beelen Woody
Associate Professor

M.Ed., Department of Theory and Policy Studies, Higher Education Group, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at the University of Toronto
Ph.D., French Language and Literature, University of Toronto
Études de perfectionnement, Université de Dijon
M.A., French Language and Literature, University of Toronto

Ross Building, N739ext. 77073dwoody@yorku.ca

Interests:
Eighteenth Century French literature: Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Françoise de Graffigny, epistolary writing, identity and self-representation in autobiographical works.
Second language acquisition: learner motivation, metaphors of language learning, interplay of learning and acquisition, technology-enhanced language learning, process of improving written expression in the second language, language-learning for specific purposes.


Lelia Young
Associate Professor

Ross Building, N719ext. 77066lyoung@yorku.ca

Interests:
Linguistics , Translation , Literary Francophone Studies, Poetry analysis, creative writing