Full-time Faculty Directory

Department of Geography

Alison L Bain
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Geography, University of Cambridge
M.A. Geography, University of Toronto
B.A. (Hons.) Geography, Queen’s University

Ross Building, N422ext. 66192abain@yorku.ca

Interests:
Arts and Culture , Gender Issues , Urban geography, Arts-led urban redevelopment, Geographies of artistic labour and creative practice, Geographies of sexualities, Feminist pedagogies


Ranu Basu
Associate Professor

Ph.D (Human Geography), University of Toronto
M.A. (Human Geography) , University of Toronto
B.A. (Geography), University of Toronto at Scarborough
B.A. (Geography), University of Bombay

Ross Building, N403ext. 22436ranubasu@yorku.ca

Interests:
Urban Social and Political Geography and Planning, Rationality and Power in Public Service Provision, Neoliberalization of Public Education in Ontario, Critical Geographies of Education, Diversity and Public Space – immigrant and refugee communities, Theories of Collective Action and Community Organization, Urban Demography and Neighbourhood Geographies, Critical Geographic Information Systems (GIS)


Richard L Bello
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Geography, McMaster University
B.A., Geography, McMaster University

Ross Building, N408ext. 22561bello@yorku.ca

Interests:
Global/Climate Change , Geography , Climate Science, Northern Environments, Carbon Dynamics


Kean Birch
Associate Professor

PhD, Oxford Brookes University
MSc, University of Edinburgh
MA, University of Edinburgh

Ross Building, N411kean@yorku.ca

Interests:
Innovation, Science and Technology , Bio-economy & biofuels, Hi-tech finance, Sustainability transitions


Raju J Das
Associate Professor

Ph.D. (Geography), The Ohio State University
M. A. (Urban Studies), University of Akron
Master of Philosophy (in Geography) (Part 1), University of Delhi
M. A. (Geography), University of Delhi
B. A. (Honors) (Geography), Utkal University

Ross Building, S411ext. 22450rajudas@yorku.ca

Interests:
Regional and Industrial Development , Geographically uneven capitalist development; Conditions of the Working class; Poverty; Agrarian change, and globalization, Developmental policies of the state; radical social movements; social capital (critique);, Theoretical work on class, the state, and capitalist development under imperialism; space-society relations; the notion of critique


T.D. Drezner
Associate Professor

Ph.D. (Geography), Arizona State University
M.A.(Geography), Arizona State University
B.A.(Geography), California State University, Fullerton

Ross Building, S408ext. 20511drezner@yorku.ca

Interests:
Deserts and Arid Lands, Plant-Climate Interactions, Disturbance and Invasion


Jennifer M Hyndman
Professor

Ph.D., Geography , University of British Columbia
M.A., Sociology , Lancaster University
B.A., Sociology & English, University of Alberta

Kaneff Tower, 853ext. 33689jhyndman@yorku.ca

Interests:
Geography , Violence , Geographies of forced migration/immigration, Humanitarian aid in response to conflict/asylum/disasters, Refugee (re)settlement


William M. Jenkins
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Toronto
MA, National University of Ireland (UCD)
BA, National University of Ireland (UCD)

Ross Building, S410ext. 22488wjenkins@yorku.ca

Interests:
Immigration , History , Geography, Transnational Studies, Nationalism


Philip F. Kelly
Professor

PhD, University of British Columbia
MA, McGill University
BA (Hons), University of Oxford

Kaneff Tower, 836ext. 44076pfkelly@yorku.ca

Interests:
Geography , Immigration , Philippines , Southeast Asia, Labour


Jennifer B. Korosi
Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Biology , Queen's University

N407 Ross Building ext. 22491jkorosi@yorku.ca

Interests:
Environment , Global/Climate Change , limnology, biogeography, biogeochemistry


Elizabeth M. Lunstrum
Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
M.A., Michigan State University
B.A., University of Washington
B.A., University of Washington

S. Ross 412ext. 46010lunstrum@yorku.ca

Interests:
Political ecology of international borders; People-park relations; The militarization of conservation; Wildlife crime; Political ecology of conflict/post-conflict spaces; Environmental displacement; Conservation and human rights abuses; Aboriginal rights; Migration and mobility; Territorialization and land grabs; Southern Africa, North America


Joseph Mensah
Professor

PhD, University of Alberta
MA, Wilfrid Laurier University
BA, University of Ghana

Ross Building, N413Aext. 66344jmensah@yorku.ca

Interests:
Culture and Cultural Studies , transnational and return migration, ethno-racial identity formation, African development


Valerie Preston
Professor

Ross Building, S412ext. 22421vpreston@yorku.ca

Interests:
Immigration , Gender Issues , Urban Labour and Housing Markets


Tarmo K Remmel
Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Toronto
M.Sc.F., Lakehead University
B.E.S., University of Waterloo

Ross Building, N423ext. 22496remmelt@yorku.ca

Interests:
Geography , Information Technologies , Remote Sensing, GIS, Spatial Pattern Analysis


André Robert
Professor

PhD Geography, University of Cambridge (UK)

Ross Building, S406ext. 22002arobert@yorku.ca

Interests:
River Science, Process Geomorphology


Steven Tufts
Associate Professor

Doctor of Philosophy, Geography, York University
Master of Arts, Geography, Queen’s University
Bachelor of Arts (Honours), Geography, McGill University

Ross Building, N418Aext. 20745tufts@yorku.ca

Interests:
Geography , Labour , Populism, Labour Market Adjustment and Integration, Work and Climate Change


Peter Vandergeest
Professor

Ph.D., Development Sociology, Cornell University
M.S., Development Sociology, Cornell University
B.Sc., Chemical Engineering, University of Waterloo

Ross Building, N405ext. 66191pvander@yorku.ca

Interests:
Geography , Environment , Southeast Asia, Political Ecology, Agrofood Systems, Cultural Politics of Development, Environmental Certification, Southeast Asia, Thailand.


Patricia Wood
Professor

Ross Building, S409ext. 22448pwood@yorku.ca


Kathy Lynn Young
Professor

PhD, Geography, McMaster University
MSc, Geography, University of Toronto
Hon BSc, Geography/Biology, University of Toronto

Ross Building, N415ext. 22371klyoung@yorku.ca

Interests:
Geography , Environment , Arctic Hydrology, Arctic Wetland Hydrology, Extreme Environments