Full-time Faculty Directory

Department of History

Jennifer L. Bonnell
Assistant Professor

Ph.D. History Education, University of Toronto
M.A. Environmental Studies , University of Victoria
B.A. (Honours), English and Environmental Studies, University of Victoria

2130 Vari Halext. 30422bonnellj@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Environment , Public History and Collective Memory, Animal History, Urban History, Canadian History


Stephen J Brooke
Professor

D. Phil, University of Oxford
MA, McGill University
BA , Dalhousie University

Vari Hall, 2188ext. 66980sjbrooke@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Social, cultural and political history of 20th Century Britain


Elizabeth S. Cohen
Professor

PhD., University of Toronto
M.A., Harvard University
B.A., Harvard University

Vari Hall, 2128ext. 66960ecohen@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Women's Studies , Early Modern Italy; Social, Cultural, Gender


Thomas V Cohen
Professor

PhD, Harvard University
MA, Harvard University
BA, University of Michigan

Vari Hall, 2156ext. 66977tcohen@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Anthropology , The Political and Cultural Anthropology of Early Modern Italy, Historical Narrative as an Art, Language and Consciousness in Early Modern Italian Society , Language, gesture, ritual and transactional style. In general, the social and cultural anthropology of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, especially in Italy. Microhistory and experimental historical writing


Boyd D. Cothran
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Minnesota

Vari Hall, 2132ext. 66959cothran@yorku.ca

Interests:
U.S. Cultural History, Indigenous Peoples, American West, Historical Memory, Historiography, Political Economy, Settler Colonialism, and American Innocence


JosÚ C. Curto
Associate Professor

York Lanes, 315ext. 66965jccurto@yorku.ca

Interests:
Modern Africa, Social and Economic History


Alan Durston
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Anthropology, University of Chicago
M.A. History, Universidad de Santiago de Chile
M.A. History, University of Cambridge

Vari Hall, 2126ext. 66962durston@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Anthropology , Latin America, Peru


Jonathan Edmondson
Professor

Ph.D. in Classics (Ancient History), Cambridge University: Christ’s College
M.A. in Classics, Cambridge University: Christ’s College
B.A. in Classics , Cambridge University: Christ’s College

Vari Hall, 2178ext. 30417jedmond@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Classics , Society, economy and culture of Roman Spain (especially Lusitania) from the late Iron Age to the late Roman Empire, Roman epigraphy, especially of the Roman Empire, Gladiators in Roman society, the Roman family


Joshua A Fogel
Professor

Ph. D., History , Columbia University
M.A., History , Columbia University
B.A., History , University of Chicago

Ross Building, N817ext. 30420fogel@yorku.ca

Interests:
Comparative East Asia, Modern China, Japan


Athanasios (Sakis) Gekas
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2120ext. 30423agekas@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Economic, Modern Greece / Mediterranean, British colonialism, Migration and Diaspora


Michele Antoinette Johnson
Associate Professor

York Lanes, 321Aext. 66933johnsonm@yorku.ca

Interests:
Caribbean, Social, Cultural


Edward Jones-Imhotep
Associate Professor

PhD, Harvard University

Vari Hall, 2164ext. 30430imhotep@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Social and Cultural History of Science and Technology, Modern Europe and North America, Technology and the Self


Joan Judge
Professor

PhD, Columbia University
MA, Columbia University
MA, Institut d’╔tudes Politiques de Paris
BA, University of Alberta

Vari Hall, 2122ext. 20593judge@yorku.ca

Interests:
Print Culture in Modern China and in Comparative Perspective, Chinese Women’s History, Reading Practices in China and in Comparative Perspective


Benjamin Kelly
Associate Professor

DPhil, University of Oxford (Oct. 1999-Jan. 2003)
BA , University of Sydney (Feb. 1995-Nov.1998)

Vari Hall, 2134ext. 30415benkelly@yorku.ca

Interests:
Law, crime and policing in the Roman Republic and Principate, the history of Graeco-Roman Egypt, the Roman imperial court


Sean R Kheraj
Associate Professor

PhD, York University

Vari Hall, 2124ext. 30421kherajs@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Environment , Energy, Cities, Animals


Janice C. H. Kim
Associate Professor

PhD, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
MA, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
MA, Department of History, The Johns Hopkins University
BA, Department of History, The Johns Hopkins University

Kaneff Tower, 706ext. 30402jkim@yorku.ca

Interests:
Twentieth-century Korea, modern East Asia, gender, labor, migration, war


David Koffman
Assistant Professor

7th Floor, York Research Tower, Koschitzky Centre for Jewish Studiesext. 77395koffman@yorku.ca

Interests:
Modern Jewish history, historiography, 19th and 20th Canadian and U.S. social and cultural history, race, religion, medicine and gender.


Rachel M Koopmans
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2182ext. 30414koopmans@yorku.ca


Molly Ladd-Taylor
Associate Professor

Ph.D., American Studies, Yale University
M.A., American Studies, Case Western Reserve University
B.A., Honors in History, Oberlin College

Vari Hall, 2136ext. 30419mltaylor@yorku.ca

Interests:
Research Interests: 20th Century U.S. History, health and welfare, gender, childhood, eugenics


Paul E Lovejoy
Professor

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
M.Sc., University of Wisconsin
B.Sc., Clarkson College of Technology

York Lanes, 329ext. 66917plovejoy@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , African Studies , Culture and Cultural Studies, Race and Racism, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Slavery; African Economic


Marcel Martel
Professor

PhD, York University
Masters of Arts, York University
Bachelor of Arts, UniversitÚ Laval

Vari Hall, 2166ext. 30429mmartel@yorku.ca

Interests:
Politics and Government , History , Social Regulation, Social Actors and Public Policies, Drug Regulation and State Policies, State Surveillance, Resistance and Strategies


Kathryn M McPherson
Professor

Ross Building, S900ext. 44569kathryn@yorku.ca

Interests:
Canadian West; Women’s History


Deborah Neill
Associate Professor

PhD, Univeristy of Toronto
MA, University of Toronto
BA, University of Waterloo

York Lanes 313 & 2140 Vari Hallext. 20365 & 66968dneill@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Culture and Cultural Studies , Modern European Colonialism/Modern Atlantic World, History of Trade in West Africa, History of Medicine


Carolyn Podruchny
Associate Professor

Doctorate of Philosophy, University of Toronto
Master of Arts, University of Toronto
Cours de franšais, UniversitÚ Laval
Bachelor of Arts Joint Honours, McGill University

Kaneff Tower, 718carolynp@yorku.ca

Interests:
Aboriginal Peoples , History , The meeting of Europeans, particularly French, and indigenous peoples, particularly Algonquian-speakers, in the North American fur trade. I focus on cultural, social, gender, labour, and environmental questions, Early Canadian history, Metis history, fur trade history


Nicholas C. T. Rogers
Professor

Founders College, 222ext. 30408nickrog@yorku.ca

Interests:
Political and Social


Anne G. Rubenstein
Associate Professor

Ph.D., History, Rutgers University
B.A., Fine arts major, Oberlin College

Kaneff Tower, 818ext. 66961arubenst@yorku.ca

Interests:
Modern Latin America, Cultural


Thabit A.J. Abdullah Sam
Professor

Vari Hall, 2140ext. 66966athabit@yorku.ca, chairhis@yorku.ca


Margaret E. Schotte
Assistant Professor

PhD, MA, Princeton University
MA, University of Toronto
BA, Harvard University

Vari Hall, 2138ext. 30418mschotte@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Science and Technology , Early Modern Science, Book History, Maritime History


Marlene G Shore
Professor

Vari Hall, 2184ext. 66975 mshore@yorku.ca

Interests:
Intellectual and cultural history of Canada and United States


Adrian Shubert
Professor

PhD, History, University of London
MA, Comparative Social History, University of Warwick
MA, History, University of New Mexico
BA, History, University of Toronto

Vari Hall, 2160ext. 30431adriansh@yorku.ca

Interests:
Modern Spain; European Social/Labour


Jennifer A Stephen
Associate Professor

Doctorate of Philosophy, University of Toronto/OISE
Master of Arts, University of Toronto/OISE
Bachelor of Arts Honours, Queen's University

Founders College, 129ext. 66930stephenj@yorku.ca

Interests:
Canadian History


Franc Sturino
Associate Professor

Atkinson College, 618ext. 33251fsturino@hotmail.com

Interests:
History , Canada, Migration Studies, Italian History, Ethnicity


Jeremy Trevett
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2176ext. 66969jtrevett@yorku.ca, dgshist@yorkuk.ca

Interests:
Greek history, Classical Athens, Economic and social history of ancient Greece, Greek Oratory, Demosthenes


David V Trotman
Professor

Founders College, 326ext. 33192dtrotman@yorku.ca

Interests:
Caribbean; Social and Cultural


Keith I Weiser
Associate Professor

PhD, Columbia University
MA, Columbia University
BA, Yale University

Kaneff Tower, 754ext. 33561kweiser@yorku.ca

Interests:
Modern Jewish History, Central and Eastern European History, Israel Studies, Yiddish and Hebrew Language and Culture, Sociolinguistics, Language Policy


William Craig Wicken
Professor

Ph.D., Department of History, McGill University
M.A., History of the United States, McGill University
Honours B.A., East Asian History, McGill University

Vari Hall, 2192ext. 66963wwicken@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Indigenous Peoples , Law, Native & Colonial North America