Full-time Faculty Directory

Department of Humanities

Katharine Anderson
Associate Professor

PhD, Northwestern University
MA, University of Massachussets at Amherst
BA, McGill University

Norman Bethune College, 303ext. 22026kateya@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Science and Technology , History of Science, Victorian Studies, Environmental History


Steven C Bailey
Associate Professor

PhD in Speech Communication , University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
MA in Popular Culture , Bowling Green State University
MA in Cinema Studies, University of Iowa
AB in Art (film), Bard College

Norman Bethune College, 316ext. 33808bailey@yorku.ca

Interests:
Media Culture (especially popular music and contemporary cinema), Sociological Theory and Contemporary Philosophy, Identity and Self-Consciousness, Psychoanalytic Theory (especially Lacanian and post-Lacanian theory)


Jody D Berland
Professor

PhD in Social and Political Thought , York University
MA, Simon Fraser University
BA in English and Sociology, Simon Fraser University

234 Founders Collegeext. 33218jberland@yorku.ca

Interests:
Culture and Cultural Studies , Media , Animal Studies, Posthumanism, Cultural Sociology, STS, Music, Sound, and Technological Mediations


Kym Bird
Associate Professor

PhD, York University
MA English, York University
BA, York University

Winters College, 105ext. 77462kbird@yorku.ca

Interests:
History, Canadian, English, feminism, theatre particularly women's theatre


Sarah H Blake
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Southern California
Hon. BA, University of Toronto

Vanier College, 245ext. 77401sblake@yorku.ca


Marcus Boon
Professor

Ph.D., New York University
M. A., New York University
B. A., University College London

Stong College, 347ext. 40675 mboon@yorku.ca


Gary R Butler
Professor

PhD, Memorial University
M. ès L., Université de Bordeaux III
BA, Memorial University
BEd, Memorial University

McLaughlin College, 030ext. 44090gbutler@yorku.ca

Interests:
Anthropology , Culture and Cultural Studies , Oral Narrative Discourse, African & Caribbean Oral Tradition


Amila Buturovic
Associate Professor

PhD in Islamic Studies , McGill University
MA in Islamic Studies , McGill University
BA, Major in Arabic Language; Minor in English , Sarajevo University

Vanier College, 222ext. 77054amilab@yorku.ca

Interests:
Religion , Culture and Cultural Studies , Ottoman Balkans, Ottoman Bosnia, Islam in the Balkans, Medieval Arabo-Islamic cultures, , Islamic Cultural and Intellectual history; Islamic epigraphy; Sacred Space; Translation, Multivocality


Mark Cauchi
Associate Professor

PhD, Social and Political Thought, York University

McLaughlin College, 033ext. 77558mcauchi@yorku.ca

Interests:
Continental philosophy; critical theory; secularism and postsecularism; religion, theology, atheism; aesthetic theory and criticism; film-philosophy


David Cecchetto
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Victoria
M.Mus., University of Victoria
Hon. B. Mus., Wilfrid Laurier University

Vanier College, 239ext. 33958dcecchet@yorku.ca


Kabita Chakraborty
Assistant Professor

PhD, University of Queensland, Australia
M.A, University of Toronto, Canada
B.Sc, Hon, University of Toronto, Canada

Founders College, 227ext. 66915kabitac@yorku.ca

Interests:
Children and Youth , Culture and Cultural Studies , South and Southeast Asia


Tony Burke
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Toronto
BA, MA, Wilfred Laurier

McLaughlin College, 036ext. 22329tburke@yorku.ca

Interests:
Religion , Infancy gospels, Non-Canonical Jewish and Christian writings, Curses, Early Christianity, Jewish and Christian Apocrypha, Childhood in Antiquity


S.D. Chrostowska
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Toronto

Founders College, 307Asylwiac@yorku.ca

Interests:
(1) History and genres of discourse (philosophical and socio-theoretical critique, literary criticism, utopianism, historiography), (2) Modes of experience (radical-political action, creativity, mortality, masochism, the affective-reflective states of nostalgia and melancholy), (3) Misc. topics in the philosophy of history and aesthetics.


Matthew C Clark
Associate Professor

PhD, Harvard University
MA, University of Toronto
BA, University of Toronto

Vanier College, 251ext. 77396matthewc@yorku.ca

Interests:
Classic Philology: Homeric Epics, Ancient Greek Novels, and Rhetoric;
Literary Theory and Theory of Narrative
Literary Language as Representation


Elicia A. Clements
Associate Professor

PhD in English Literature , York University
MA in English Literature , York University
BA (Honours) in English Literature , University of Western Ontario
BMus (Honours) in Music Education , University of Western Ontario

Vanier College, 247ext. 33712elicia@yorku.ca

Interests:
Modernism, Interdisciplinary Studies, Gender Studies


Thomas V Cohen
Professor

PhD, Harvard University
MA, Harvard University
BA, University of Michigan

Vari Hall, 2156ext. 66977tcohen@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Anthropology , The Political and Cultural Anthropology of Early Modern Italy, Historical Narrative as an Art, Language and Consciousness in Early Modern Italian Society , Language, gesture, ritual and transactional style. In general, the social and cultural anthropology of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, especially in Italy. Microhistory and experimental historical writing


Cheryl Cowdy
Assistant Professor

PhD, York University
MA, Carleton University
BA, University of Toronto

318 Founders Collegeext. 77492ccrawfor@yorku.ca

Interests:
Children and Youth , English , Children's Literature; Canadian literature; suburban space in postmodern culture.


Andrea A. Davis
Associate Professor

PhD, York University
MA, York University
BA (first class hons.), University of the West Indies, Mona Campus

Vanier College, 206ext. 77015aadavis@yorku.ca

Interests:
Caribbean, African American and Black Canadian Literatures and Theatre, African Diaspora Studies, Black Cultural and Feminist Studies, Race and Racism, Youth Studies


John A. Dwyer
Professor

PhD, University of British Columbia
MA in History , University of British Columbia
MA in Education , University of British Columbia

jdwyer@yorku.ca

Interests:
Scottish Enlightenment and Eighteenth-Century Sentimentalism


Carl S. Ehrlich
Professor

PhD in Near Eastern Languages and Civlizations , Harvard University
MA in Near Eastern Languages and Civlizations , Harvard University
BA in Judaic Studies/Honors, University of Massachussets at Amherst

Kaneff Tower, 758ext. 20191ehrlich@yorku.ca

Interests:
Religion , Synchronic, Diachronic, and Contextual Approaches to the Biblical Text and Israelite Civilization, Hebrew Bible, Ancient Near East, Jewish Studies


Yedida Eisenstat
Assistant Professor

Kaneff Tower, 756ext. 77384eisensta@yorku.ca


Andrea Emberly
Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Ethnomusicology, University of Washington
M.A. Ethnomusicology, University of Washington
M.A. Music Performance, Illinois State University
B.A. Music Performance, University of Alberta

Founders College, 230ext. 77094aemberly@yorku.ca

Interests:
Music , Children , Ethnomusicology


Roger Fisher
Associate Professor

Ph.D. (History), McMaster University
J.D., Osgoode Hall Law School
M.A. (Classics), McMaster University
B.A. (Classical Studies: Greek and Latin), University of Ottawa

McLaughlin College, 038ext. 23221rfisher@yorku.ca

Interests:
Law and Justice , Classics , Law, History, Literature and Culture, Neo-Latin Literature


Douglas Freake
Associate Professor

PhD,

Vanier College, 244ext. 66984dfreake@yorku.ca


Ted Goossen
Professor

PhD, University of Toronto
MA, University of Toronto
BA, Oberlin College

Vanier College, 231ext. 66986tgoossen@yorku.ca


Alison Halsall
Assistant Professor

PhD, York University
Master's of English, Carleton University
Bachelor of Arts (Honours), Carleton University

Vanier College, 234ext. 33944ahalsall@yorku.ca

Interests:
English , Children and Youth , Victorian, Visual Cultures, Children and Youth Cultures


Philip A Harland
Associate Professor

Ph.D. (Religious Studies), University of Toronto
M.A. (Religious Studies), University of Toronto
B.A. (History and Religious Studies), University of Waterloo

Vanier College, 248ext. 77379pharland@yorku.ca

Interests:
Religious and Social Life in the Roman Empire


Sara R. Horowitz
Professor

PhD, Brandeis University

Kaneff Tower, 755ext. 77097srh@yorku.ca

Interests:
Arts and Culture , Comparative Literature, Jewish Studies, Holocaust Studies


Theresa M Hyun
Professor

PhD in French Medieval Studies, University of Iowa
MA in French, University of Iowa
BA in French and Italian, State University of New York

Vanier College, 228ext. 77101thyun@yorku.ca


Susan Ingram
Associate Professor

Vanier College, 242ext. 77023singram@yorku.ca


Marlene Kadar
Professor

PhD in Comparative Literature , University of Alberta
MA in English , University of Waterloo
BA (Honours) English (Minor in Classics) , Trent University

Founders College, 311ext. 66926mkadar@yorku.ca

Interests:
Life Writing and Autobiography, Archival Lives, Interdisciplinary Research Methods, Memory, The Holocaust and The Porrajmos


Joseph Keeping
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Philosophy, York University
M.A., Philosophy, University of Guelph
B.A., Philosophy, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Vanier College, 225ext. 33674keeping@yorku.ca

Interests:
Psychology , Philosophy , Phenomenology, Existentialism, Philosophy of Mind (especially emotions and embodiment)


Andreas Kitzmann
Associate Professor

PhD , McGill University
BA , McGill University
BA , Trinity Western University

Founders College, 321ext. 88703kitzmann@yorku.ca

Interests:
Culture and Cultural Studies , Arts and Culture , Technology and Culture, Digital Technology and Culture, Design Architecture, Consumer Culture, Popular Culture, Life Writing and The Internet


Sailaja Krishnamurti
Assistant Professor

PhD, Social and Political Thought, York University
MA, English and Contemporary Social and Political Thought, University of Victoria
BA Honours, Humanities and Women's Studies, York University
,

Kaneff Tower, 702ext. 44680skrishna@yorku.ca

Interests:
Religion , Race and Racism , South Asia and South Asian diasporas, youth culture, identity, and popular culture, comics, graphic novels, and visual culture


Avron P Kulak
Associate Professor

PhD in Social and Political Thought , York University
MA in Social and Political Thought , York University
BA (Honors) in Individualized Studies, York University

Vanier College, 219ext. 66987akulak@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophical and Religious Values in European Thought: Plato, The Bible, Descartes Spinoza, Kant, Hegel, Kierkegaard, Nietzsche, Derrida


Bernard V Lightman
Professor

PhD inHistory of Ideas, Brandeis University
MA in History, York University
BA Honours (First Class) in History , York University

Norman Bethune College, 309ext. 22028 lightman@yorku.ca

Interests:
Cultural History of Science, esp. 19th Century British Science and Religion, Gender, Visual and Print Culture


Andrea Medovarski
Assistant Professor

PhD, York University
MA, York University
BEd, Queen's University
BA, Queen's University

250 Vanier Collegeext. 70414medov@yorku.ca


Deborah Orr
Associate Professor

PhD, York University

McLaughlin College, 044ext. 77024dorr@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy , Ethics , Philosophy of Mindfulness, Application of Mindfulness to Anti-oppressive Pedagogy and Praxis


Jay Rahn
Professor

Ph.D. in Music, Columbia University
M.Phil. in Music, Columbia University
M.A. in Music, Columbia University
Mus. Bac. in History & Literature, University of Toronto

Vanier College, 236ext. 66612jayrahn@yorku.ca

Interests:
Music Theory, Historical Musicology, Comparative Musicology, Music Cognition


Markus Reisenleitner
Professor

Dr.phil., University of Vienna

Vanier College, 237mrln@yorku.ca

Interests:
Culture and Cultural Studies , History , Film and Fashion, Digital Humanities


Leslie Sanders
Professor

PhD, University of Toronto

Atkinson College, 706ext. 66604leslie@yorku.ca

Interests:
African American and Black Canadian Literature and Culture, Literatures of The African Diaspora


Jamie S Scott
Professor

PhD in Religion and Literature , University of Chicago
MA in English Literature, Queen’s University
MA in Religious Studies, Carleton University
BA in English Literature and Language, Downing College, Cambridge University

McLaughlin College, 029ext. 77342jscott@yorku.ca

Interests:
World Religions in Canada, Literature and Geography, Religion and Geography, Religion and Popular Culture


Victor Shea
Associate Professor

Ph.D., York University
M.A., University of Toronto
B.A., University of Prince Edward Island

Vanier College, 237ext. 66983vshea@yorku.ca

Interests:
English , Humanities, Victorian Culture and Literature, British Empire and Imperialism


Joan Steigerwald
Associate Professor

PhD, King’s College London
MA, University of Manitoba
BA, University of Manitoba

Norman Bethune College, 312ext. 70417steiger@yorku.ca

Interests:
History of the Life Sciences and Environmental History, German Idealism and Romanticism, Science and Technology Studies and Contemporary Theory


Patrick D M Taylor
Professor

PhD, York University
MA, York University
BA, York University

Kaneff Tower, 824ext. 33320taylorp@yorku.ca

Interests:
Latin American and Caribbean Studies , Religion , Postcolonial Thought, Caribbean Literature, Religion and Culture


Richard P Teleky
Professor

PhD, University of Toronto

Vanier College, 220ext. 77020rteleky@yorku.ca


Rob Tordoff
Associate Professor

PhD, Cambridge University
BA, Oxford University

Vanier College, 250ext. 70476rtordoff@yorku.ca

Interests:
Classics , Labour , Slavery, Social memory, Classical Tradition


Alicia M Turner
Assistant Professor

PhD , University of Chicago, Divinity School
MA in History of Religions , University of Chicago, Divinity School
BA in Reigion in Women’s Studies , Kalamazoo College

Vanier College, 241ext. 66979turnera@yorku.ca

Interests:
Religion , Asian/Pacific Studies , Buddhism, Religions of Southeast Asia, Religion and Colonialism/Empire, Religion and Nationalism, Burmese History, Gender and Religion, European Buddhist Converts in Asia, Theory and Method in the Study of Religion


Stanley Tweyman
Professor

Vanier College, 254ext. 44084stweyman@yorku.ca


Gail Vanstone
Associate Professor

PhD in Social and Political Thought , York University
MA in Interdisciplinary Studies, York University
BA Combined Honours, York University
Diplôme Supérieur, Université Paul Valéry

Vanier College, 223ext. 33957gailv@yorku.ca

Interests:
Feminist Cultural Production with an emphasis on Literature and Film, Canadian Cultural Production, Contemporary Critical Cultural Theory


Susan J Warwick
Associate Professor

Ph.D., York University
M.A., York University
B.A., University of Toronto

Vanier College, 204ext. 77021swarwick@yorku.ca


Keith I Weiser
Associate Professor

PhD, Columbia University
MA, Columbia University
BA, Yale University

Kaneff Tower, 754ext. 33561kweiser@yorku.ca

Interests:
Modern Jewish History, Central and Eastern European History, Israel Studies, Yiddish and Hebrew Language and Culture, Sociolinguistics, Language Policy


Allan Weiss
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Toronto
MA, Concordia University
BA, Concordia University

Stong College, 307ext. 77318aweiss@yorku.ca


Laura Wiseman
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Hebrew Language & Literature, University of Torornto
Collaborative Doctorate - Jewish Studies, University of Toronto
M.A. Hebrew Language & Literature, University of Toronto
M.Ed. Curriculum, Second Lang. Acquis., University of Toronto, O.I.S.E.
Hons. B.A. Jewish Studies; Education, McGill University

Winters College, 247ext. 77366lwiseman@edu.yorku.ca


Selma Zecevic
Associate Professor

PhD in Middle Eastern Studies, Columbia University
MPhil, MA in Middle Eastern Studies, Columbia University
BA in Arabic Language and Literature (Major) and Persian Language and Literature (Minor), University of Sarajevo
BA in Philosophy and Sociology (Double Major), University of Sarajevo

Vanier College, 230ext. 77398selmaz@yorku.ca

Interests:
Ottoman Legal History, Islamic Law, Gender and Islamic Law, Legal Translation, Muslim-Christian Legal Relations in Early Modern Mediterranean, Islamic Manuscript Culture and Book History