Full-time Faculty Directory

Department of Sociology

Syed Harris Ali
Professor

Vari Hall, 2073ext. 33913hali@yorku.ca

Interests:
Global/Climate Change , Environment , Environment and health; Sociology of risk, Disasters; Infectious diseases, Environmental management; Environmental justice


Karen Anderson
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2110ext. 60304karenand@yorku.ca

Interests:
Social Media; Teaching and Technology; Sociology of the Body; Neuro-Sociology.


Pat Armstrong
Professor

Ph.D., Sociology, Carleton University
M.A., Canadian Studies, Carleton University
B.A., Sociology, University of Toronto

Vari Hall, 2118ext. 22550patarmst@yorku.ca

Interests:
Health , Women's Studies


Sylvia Bawa
Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 2144ext. 60355bawa@yorku.ca

Interests:
International Political Economy; Postcoloniality and discourses of women's rights and empowerment; Human Rights; Gender and Development; Postcolonial and Transnational feminisms


Margaret Evelyn Beare
Professor

Doctor of Philosophy - Sociology, Columbia University
Diploma in Criminology, Cambridge University
Masters of Arts, Sociology, University of Guelph
Bachelor of Arts, Sociology and English, University of Guelph

Ignat Kaneff Building, 3006ext. 55907mbeare@yorku.ca

Interests:
Social Control; Policing; Crime and Delinquency; Organized Crime; Women and Justice Issues; Criminology and Corrections.


Katherine Bischoping
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Michigan
MSc, University of Michigan
BMath, University of Waterloo

Vari Hall, 2086ext. 77996kbischop@yorku.ca

Interests:
Culture and Cultural Studies , Sociology , Qualitative Methods, Narrative Analysis, Oral History


Deborah R. Brock
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Sociology, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education/University of Toronto
M.A., Sociology, Carleton University
B.A., Sociology and Canadian Studies, University of Waterloo

Vari Hall, 2108ext. 60302dbrock@yorku.ca

Interests:
Social, Sexual and Moral Regulation, Sex Work, Research for Social Change


Sheila Cavanagh
Associate Professor

PhD, York University
MA, University of Toronto (OISE)
BA, York University
BEd, York University

Founders College, 206ext. 22337sheila@yorku.ca

Interests:
Gender Issues , Culture and Cultural Studies , Queer Theory, Psychoanalytic Theory, Trans* Studies, Performance Ethnography


Rina Cohen
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2112ext. 77991rcohen@yorku.ca

Interests:
Labour , Gender Issues , patterns of diaspora engagement, transnational migration and globalization, returning migration


Deborah Davidson
Associate Professor

2909 Vari Hallext. 60310debd@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sociology , Disability/Accessibility , Tattoos, Qualitative Methodology, Lifecourse, Motherhood, Death, Bereavement, Commemoration


Lorna Erwin
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2116ext. 60306lerwin@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sociology of Education; Difference, Inequality and Power; Qualitative Methods; Higher Education.


Amber M Gazso
Associate Professor

Ph.D. in Sociology, University of Alberta
M.A. in Sociology, University of Western Ontario
B.A. in Criminal Justice (Minor in Sociology), University of Fraser Valley

Vari Hall, 2082ext. 77987agazso@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sociology , Gender Issues , Family and intimate relationships, Poverty, Social Policy


Luin Goldring
Professor

Ph.D., Development Sociology, Cornell University
M.S., Rural Sociology, Cornell University
B.A., Anthropology, California State University

Kaneff Tower, 820ext. 60311goldring@yorku.ca

Interests:
Immigration , Sociology , Citizenship and non-citizenship, Precarious work, Transnational migration


Mark J Goodman
Assistant Professor

Atkinson College, 418ext. 33678mgoodman2@gmail.com

Interests:
Social Theory; Slavery and Black Experience in the Americas.


Andil Gosine
Associate Professor

PhD, York University
MPhil, University of Sussex
BES (Hons.), York University

Vari Hall, 2148ext. 77984andil@yorku.ca

Interests:
Culture and Cultural Studies , Arts and Culture , Environmental Justice/ Politics


J. Paul Grayson
Professor

B.A., York University
M.A., York University
Ph.D., University of Toronto
,

Atkinson College, 438ext. 20484grayson@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sociology , Education , University Student Experiences


Ratiba Hadj-Moussa
Professor

Ph.D. in Sociology, Université Laval
D.E.A. in Art du Spectacle, Université de la Sorbonne Nouvelle (Paris III)
D.E.A. in Sociology (Theory), Université Denis Diderot (Paris VII)

Vari Hall, 2102ext. 77989rhm@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sociology of Art and Culture; Political Sociology; Common Cultural Artifacts to Art (Cinema and Music), Visual Culture in General; Gender and Post-Colonial Studies; Mediterranean and North African Societies; Diasporic Experiences in Western Contexts.


Barbara Hanson
Professor

Atkinson College, 336ext. 20469hansonbg@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sociology , Law , Aging, Women's issues, Health


Robert A Kenedy
Associate Professor

Winters College, 124ext. 77458rkenedy@yorku.ca

Interests:
Jewish Diaspora; Immigration and Citizenship; Ethnic Identity; Social and Political Movements; Qualitative Methodologies.


Ann H Kim
Associate Professor

Kaneff Tower, 839ext. 22678annkim@yorku.ca

Interests:
Immigrant and Ethnic Integration; Migration; Urban Sociology; Social Demography; Quantitative Methods.


Fuyuki Kurasawa
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2088ext. 77990kurasawa@yorku.ca

Interests:
Classical and Contemporary Theory; Cultural Studies; Political Economy; Urban Sociology.


Christopher Kyriakides
Associate Professor

PhD, Department of Sociology & Anthropology, Department of Politics, University of Glasgow
BA (Hons.), Department of Sociology & Anthropology, University of Glasgow

2114 Vari Hallext. 60305ckyriak@yorku.ca

Interests:
Race and Racism , Immigration , racialization and nationalism, (anti)immigration, the (anti)racist state, social theory, utopian thought and hopeful subjectivity, geopolitics, culture and communication


Lawrence Lam
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2098ext. 77995larrylam@yorku.ca

Interests:
Migration and Refugee Studies; Race and Ethnic Relations; Transnationalism and Diaspora.


Rhonda L. Lenton
Professor

Kaneff Tower, 1050president@yorku.ca


Guida Man
Associate Professor

Kaneff Tower, 612ext. 30269gman@yorku.ca

Interests:
Immigration , Family , Women and Work, Globalization and Transnational Migration, Immigrant and Diasporic Communities


Nancy J Mandell
Professor

Ph.D. (Sociology), Northeastern University
M.A. (Sociology), Carleton University
B. Ed., University of Toronto
B.A. (Honours Sociology), University of Toronto

Founders College, 225ext. 66905mandell@yorku.ca

Interests:
Family; Intimacy and Care Work; Aging and Immigrants; Gender and Schooling; Qualitative Methods; Community-Academic Research Partnerships.


Aryn Martin
Associate Professor

PhD, Cornell University
MA, Cornell University
MES, York University
BScH, Queen's University
,

Vari Hall, 2150ext. 77985aryn@yorku.ca

Interests:
Science and Technology , Health , Sex and Gender, Social and Historical Studies of Biomedicine


Arthur E. McLuhan
Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 2115ext. 60307mcluhan@yorku.ca

Interests:
Social Psychology; Classical Symbolic Interactionism


Radhika Mongia
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2080ext. 66406rmongia@yorku.ca

Interests:
Feminist, Marxist and Postcolonial Theory; Political and Historical Sociology; Study of "Transnational" and "Global" Processes.


Carmela Murdocca
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2100ext. 77992murdocca@yorku.ca

Interests:
Colonialism; Race; Socio-Legal Studies; Law; Nationalism/Multiculturalism; Feminist/Postcolonial/Critical Race Theories.


Marcello Musto
Associate Professor

Ph. D in Philosophy and Politics, University of Naples ‘L’Orientale’
Ph. D in Philosophy, University of Nice ‘Sophia Antipolis’
M. A. in Political Sciences, University of Naples ‘L’Orientale’

Founders College, 134ext. 22558marcello.musto@gmail.com

Interests:
Philosophy , History , Marxism; History of Political Thought; Alienation Theories., Political Science , Sociology


Eric Mykhalovskiy
Professor

BA, King's College, UWO
MA, York University
PhD, York University

Vari Hall, 2078ext. 66405ericm@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sociology , Health , HIV/AIDS, Public Health and the Criminal Law, Institutional Ethnography


Michael Nijhawan
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2146ext. 77994nijhawan@yorku.ca

Interests:
Anthropology , Sociology , Diaspora Formations & Transnational Migration, South Asian Religions, Violence, Suffering, and Culture


Michael D Ornstein
Associate Professor

Technology Enhanced Learning Building, 5054ext. 77162ornstein@yorku.ca

Interests:
Structured Social Inequality; Political Sociology; Canadian Society; Survey Methods.


Hyun Ok Park
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Department of Sociology, University of California at Berkeley

Vari Hall, 2096ext. 77986hopark@yorku.ca

Interests:
Global Capitalism; Marxism and Critical Theory ; Historical and Comparative studies; Postcoloniality; Historical Memory; and Korea and Korean Diaspora.


Alice M Propper
Associate Professor

McLaughlin College, 228ext. 77102apropper@yorku.ca

Interests:
Violence By and Against Women and Children; Crime/Corrections/Deviance; Women's Studies; Family; Social Inequality.


Norene J Pupo-Barkans
Professor

Ph.D., Sociology, McMaster University
M.A., Sociology, McMaster University
Honours B.A., Sociology, McMaster University

Founders College, 138ext. 33310npupo@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sociology of Work; Economic Sociology; Political Sociology; Formal Organizations; Social Policy.


Hira Singh
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2106ext. 60301hsingh@yorku.ca

Interests:
Social Theory; Social Inequality; Social Movements; Feudalism in Non-European and European Societies; Colonialism and Popular Protests; Empire and Indenture (South Africa).


Glenn J Stalker
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Toronto
MA, University of Toronto
BA , University of Manitoba

Founders College, 316ext. 66942gstalker@yorku.ca

Interests:
Environment , Work and Family, Cultural Capital, Political Sociology


Penelope F Stewart
Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2084ext. 77998pstewart@yorku.ca

Interests:
Social Psychology; Application of Social Psychology to Women's Studies; Research in Interpersonal Processes; Status of Women in Ontario Universities.


Mark P Thomas
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Sociology, York University
M.A., Sociology, University of Guelph
B.A.‐Honours, Political Science and Sociology, Carleton University

Ross Building, N809ext. 30205mpthomas@yorku.ca

Interests:
The regulation of labour standards at local,  national,  and transnational scales., Labour rights and migrant workers., Labour responses to austerity politics.


Philip D Walsh
Associate Professor

Ph.D in Sociology, University of Warwick
MA in Philosophy and Social Theory, University of Warwick
BA in Philosophy, University of Delaware

Vari Hall, 2060Cext. 77999walshp@yorku.ca

Interests:
Classical and Contemporary Social Theory; Political Sociology; Globalization; History of Social Thought; Sociology of Knowledge; Philosophy of Social Science.


Lorna Weir
Professor

Ph.D., York University

Founders College, 310ext. 33198lweir@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sociology , Health , Social Theory, Science and Technology Studies , Feminist Theory; Sexuality and Human Reproduction; Government and Textuality; Sociology of Language.


Lesley Wood
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Sociology, Columbia University
M.Phil, Sociology , Columbia University
M.Sc. (Economics), Sociology, London School of Economics and Political Science

Vari Hall, 2104ext. 77993ljwood@yorku.ca

Interests:
social movements, political sociology, globalization, diffusion, global justice movement, transnational movements, repression, civic engagement, internationalism, deliberation