Full-time Faculty Directory

School of Gender Sexuality and Womens Studies

Alison D Crosby
Associate Professor

Kaneff Tower, 607ext. 33691acrosby@yorku.ca

Interests:
Gender Issues , Latin American and Caribbean Studies , Transitional Justice, Memory and memorialization, Anti-racist feminist participatory action research


Enakshi Dua
Associate Professor

Founders College, 206ext. 40104edua@yorku.ca


Any Marie-Gerard Francois
- Select One -

amgfranc@yorku.ca


Marlene Kadar
Professor

PhD in Comparative Literature , University of Alberta
MA in English , University of Waterloo
BA (Honours) English (Minor in Classics) , Trent University

Founders College, 311ext. 66926mkadar@yorku.ca

Interests:
Life Writing and Autobiography, Archival Lives, Interdisciplinary Research Methods, Memory, The Holocaust and The Porrajmos


Jan Melanie Kainer
Associate Professor

Founders College, 137ext. 20545jkainer@yorku.ca

Interests:
Women's Studies, Women and Work, Women and Professions, Gender and Work, Gender and Labour Studies, Equity Issues


Eva C Karpinski
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Women's Studies, York University
Ph.D. American Literature, University of Poznan
M.A. English (summa cum laude), University of Wroclaw
,

Founders College, 313ext. 20490evakarp@yorku.ca

Interests:
Gender Issues , Women's Studies , Cross-Cultural Studies, Autobiography, Translation Studies and Multilingualism, Feminist Theory


Frances Latchford
Associate Professor

Founders College, 206Aext. 20460flatch@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy , Gender Issues , Feminist social and political philosophy, Queer theories, Queer identity


Meg Luxton
Professor

Ph.D., Social Anthropology, University of Toronto
M.Phil., Social Anthropology, University of Toronto

Founders College, 206Dext. 20933mluxton@yorku.ca

Interests:
Women's Studies , Gender Issues , Feminist Theory, Employment and Labour, Family


Patricia C. McDermott
Associate Professor

Ross Building, S731ext. 77828patmcd@yorku.ca


Gertrude Mianda
- Select One -

GL/York Hall 155ext. 99198mianda@yorku.ca

Interests:
Gender, Development and Globalization (including gender in armed conflict zones in Africa), Gender and Post Colonialism ( Africa), Immigration (Francophone African immigrant in Canada)


Jacinthe Michaud
Associate Professor

Ph.D, Sociology, OISE/ University of Toronto
M.A, Political Science, Université Laval

166 York Hall/Glendonext. 60544 /88356jmichaud@yorku.ca

Interests:
Gender Issues , Italian , Feminism, Political Movements, Québec


Allyson Mitchell
Associate Professor

Founders College, 206Eext. 44086allysonm@yorku.ca

Interests:
Gender Issues , Sexuality , Feminist / Queer Art, Affect Theory


Ruby Newman
Associate Professor

Founders College, 236ext. 33961rnewman@yorku.ca

Interests:
Women's Studies , Religion , Oral Narratives


Janice I Newton
Associate Professor

Vanier College, 254ext. 77380jnewton@yorku.ca

Interests:
Canadian Studies , Democracy and Education, History of Canadian Political Science


Bobby Noble
Associate Professor

PhD. English, York University
M.A. English, University of Alberta
B.A. , University of Alberta

Founders College, 132ext. 20897 bnoble@yorku.ca

Interests:
Gender; Transgender; Queer Theory; Porn Studies; Feminist Theory; Cultural Studies; Postcolonial Whiteness


Andrea O'Reilly
Professor

Ph.D., English, York University
M.A., English, York University
B.A., English and Women's Studies, York University

Founders College, 223ext. 60366aoreilly@yorku.ca

Interests:
Women's Studies , Family , Motherhood, Gender issues, Mothers in Popular Culture


Cheryl Van Daalen-Smith
Associate Professor

D.Phil., Community Development/Women’s Mental Health, University of Toronto
M.A., Community Development/Women’s Mental Health, University of Toronto
B.Sc., Nursing Child Adolescent Sub Specialty, Ryerson University
Registered Nurse Diploma, Ryerson University

McLaughlin College, 232ext. 66691cvandaal@yorku.ca

Interests:
Women's Studies , Children , Women’s self esteem, Young women and anger, Girl’s experiences with shame in physical education


Amar Wahab
Assistant Professor

Founders College, 206Bext. 20904awahab@yorku.ca

Interests:
Sexuality and Gender studies, Queer studies, Critical Race studies, Transnational and Postcolonial Cultural studies


Cynthia Wright
Assistant Professor

-cynthiaw@yorku.ca