Full-time Faculty Directory

Department of Philosophy

Kristin A Andrews
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Philosophy, University of Minnesota, 2000
M.A., Philosophy, Western Michigan University, 1995
B.A., Philosophy, Antioch College, 1992

Ross Building, S420ext. 77590andrewsk@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy , Psychology , Animal Cognition, Scientific Methodology, Social Cognition, Folk Psychology


Jacob Beck
Associate Professor

Ph.D. Philosophy, Harvard University
B.A. Philosophy & Cognitive Science, University of Pennsylvania

Ross Building, S439ext. 22582jbeck@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Cognitive Science


Idil Boran
Associate Professor

Ross Building, S426ext. 30138iboran@yorku.ca

Interests:
Ethics, Business Ethics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Public Policy


Susan Dimock
Professor

Ph.D., Philosophy, Dalhousie University
M.A., Philosophy, York University
B.A., Philosophy, History, University of New Brunswick

McLaughlin College, 227ext. 77535dimock@yorku.ca

Interests:
Crime , Ethics , Philosophy of Law, Political Philosophy, Early Modern History of Philosophy


Michael A Gilbert
Professor

Ph.D., University of Waterloo
BA, City University of New York

Ross Building, S424ext. 77584gilbert@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy , Gender Issues , Critical Reasoning, Argumentation Theory, Informal Logic


Michael G Giudice
Associate Professor

Ross Building, S423ext. 77556giudice@yorku.ca

Interests:
Legal Philosophy, Associated areas in Political and Moral Theory


Verena Gottschling
Associate Professor

Ross Building, S444ext. 44722vgott@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy , Psychology , Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Evolutionary Psychology


Jagdish Hattiangadi
Professor

Ross Building, S437ext. 77524jagdish@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics


Brian D Huss
Assistant Lecturer

Ross Building, S414ext. 33634 huss@yorku.ca

Interests:
Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Psychology


Henry Jackman
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Philosophy, University of Pittsburgh
M.A., Philosophy, University of Pittsburgh
B.A., Philosophy, summa cum laude , Columbia University

Ross Building, S434ext. 77595hjackman@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, American Pragmatism


David Alan Jopling
Professor

Ross Building, S435ext. 77588jopling@yorku.ca

Interests:
Evolution, human evolution, origins of human cognition, philosophy of mind, early modern philosophy.


Joseph Keeping
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Philosophy, York University
M.A., Philosophy, University of Guelph
B.A., Philosophy, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Vanier College, 225ext. 33674keeping@yorku.ca

Interests:
Psychology , Philosophy , Phenomenology, Existentialism, Philosophy of Mind (especially emotions and embodiment)


Muhammad Ali Khalidi
Professor

Ph.D., Philosophy, Columbia University
M.A., Philosophy , Columbia University
B.S., Physics, American University of Beirut

Ross Building, S431ext. 77575khalidi@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Mind and Language, Cognitive Science


Alice C. MacLachlan
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Philosophy, Boston University
M.A., Philosophy, Queen’s University

Ross Building, S418ext. 77587amacla@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy , Ethics , Social and Political Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Philosophy of Law


Alex Manafu
Assistant Lecturer

Ph.D. in Philosophy, University of Western Ontario
M.A. in History and Philosophy of Science, University of Calgary
M.A. in Logic and Theoretical Philosophy, University of Bucharest
B.A. in Philosophy, Universitatea Alexandru Ioan Cuza

S414A Ross Buildingalexman@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy of Science (General, Physics, Chemistry), Metaphysics, Philosophy of Psychology/Psychiatry/Psychotherapy, Philosophical Practice


Daniel McArthur
Associate Professor

Ross Building, S425ext. 66346djmc@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy , Science and Technology , Philosophy of Science, Philosophical Naturalism, Realism Debate


Esteve Morera
Associate Professor

Ross Building, S419ext. 77591morera@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy of History, Social and Political Philosophy, Marxism, and the thought of Antonio Gramsci, African Philosophy


Robert Myers
Professor

Ph.D. , University of California, Berkeley
B.A., Queen's University

Ross Building, S438ext. 77586rmyers@yorku.ca

Interests:
Theoretical Ethics, Related issues in Philosophy of Action and Epistemology, Political Philosophy


Gerard T A Naddaf
Professor

Doctorate (Summa Cum Laude) 1986, Philosophy, Paris IV: Sorbonne
Diplôme d’Etudes Approfondies, 1981, Philosophy, Paris IV: Sorbonne
Elève Diplômé, 1980, Sciences Religieuses, Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes

Ross Building, S443ext. 77594 naddaf@yorku.ca

Interests:
Ancient Greek philosophy, particularly of the origins of philosophy, the Presocratics and Plato


Judith Mary Pelham
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Philosophy, University of Toronto
M.A., Philosophy, Simon Fraser University
B.A. (Hon.), Philosophy, Dalhousie University

Ross Building, S440ext. 44721pelham@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophical Logic, Work of Bertrand Russell and the history of early analytic philosophy, Psychology of Reasoning


Regina Rini
Assistant Professor

PhD, NYU, 2011
B.A., Georgetown, 2004

Ross S416rarini@yorku.ca

Interests:
Ethics , Psychology , moral cognition, social epistemology


Stefan Rodde
Assistant Lecturer

Ross Building, S417ext. 40109roddesw@yorku.ca

Interests:
Ancient Philosophy, Informal Logic


Claudine Verheggen
Professor

Ph. D., Philosophy, University of California, Berkeley
M.A., Philosophy, University of Chicago
Diploma, Cinema, Institut National Superieur des Arts du Spectacle, Brussels

Ross Building, S436ext. 77553cverheg@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy of language and related issues in philosophy of mind, metaphysics and epistemology , Wittgenstein and Davidson


Jim Vernon
Associate Professor

PhD, University of Guelph
MA Philosophy, University of Guelph
HBA Religious Studies and Literary Studies, McMaster University

Ross Building, S427ext. 33519jvernon@yorku.ca

Interests:
Philosophy , 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, esp. Hegel and post-war French Philosophy, Post-Structuralism, Emancipatory Politics


Duff Waring
Associate Professor

Ross Building, S428ext. 33522dwaring@yorku.ca

Interests:
Ethics , Mental Health, Bioethics, Philosophy of Psychiatry