Retired Faculty Directory

Department of History

Irving M Abella
Professor Emeritus

iabella@yorku.ca

Interests:
Canadian Jewish History


Bettina Bradbury
Professor Emeritus

Ph.D., History, Concordia University
M.A., History , Simon Fraser University
B.A., Sociology and English , Victoria University of Wellington

bettina@yorku.ca

Interests:
Feminist family history, social, Quebec and the British Empire, marriage and widowhood, women's history, marriage and inheritance laws and colonization – Canada, Australia, New Zealand and the Cape (South Africa)


Madelyn Dick
Professor Emeritus

PhD, Ohio State University

dickmb@yorku.ca

Interests:
History, Medieval Europe, Cultural, Medieval Germany of the Tenth and Eleventh Centuries, Renaissance and Reformation History


Marc Egnal
Professor Emeritus

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
M.A., University of Wisconsin
B.A., Swathmore College

megnal@yorku.ca

Interests:
U.S. Civil War; North American economic development


Gerald A Ginsburg
Professor Emeritus

jgins@yorku.ca

Interests:
Political; African-American


Arthur Haberman
Professor Emeritus

arthurh@yorku.ca

Interests:
19th Century Intellectual


Ned Hagerman
Professor Emeritus

hagerman@yorku.ca


William D Irvine
Professor Emeritus

birvine@yorku.ca

Interests:
Modern France and Italy


Michael Michie
Professor Emeritus

mmichie@yorku.ca

Interests:
British History, especially 19th and 20th centuries; British Empire; Australasian colonies; political theory, periodicals; history of print culture; popular culture


Jeanette M Neeson
Professor Emeritus

jmneeson@yorku.ca

Interests:
Rural Economic and Social


Richard S Schneider
Professor Emeritus

rschneid@yorku.ca

Interests:
Intellectual


Martin Singer
Professor Emeritus

martin.singer@yorku.ca


Irmgard Steinisch
Professor Emeritus

Dr. phil. , Ludwig‐Maximilians‐Universität , Munich, Germany
M.A. History and English, Free University of Berlin
B.Ed. History and English, Free University of Berlin
B.A. History and English, Ruhr‐University Bochum,

irmgards@yorku.ca

Interests:
History , Modern Germany, Diplomatic relations , Social-Economic History


Bob T Wakabayashi
Professor Emeritus

wakabaya@yorku.ca

Interests:
Japan


Ronald Webster
Professor Emeritus

rwebster@yorku.ca